Rest in Review

A key aspect of my recent intentional “resting” in southern California resulted in several recurring themes in my head:

– I really like So. Cal. I realize that this is contrary to the thoughts of many, and a lot people are trying to move away. Not me. I like it there. I have visited on business and leisure more than once. It suits me. I like the weather, the traffic, the eclectic people…pretty much everything but the cost of living! If God ever opens a door with a call to ministry basing me in that area of the country, I think Marque & I will welcome it.
– I have ideas about improving NNYM, but it’s not my place to be vocal yet. I have not earned a voice that will be heard yet. This could easily take another year or more.
– There is a distinct difference between leisure and sabbath. Too often we (including my family) try to blend these two without positive results. I appreciate Paul Fleischman for recommending a book that will help me “rest” better.
– I need to seek new mentors. I’m already working on this one.

Leave a Reply

