5

I’m supposed to start my writing a poem with the last sentence of my favorite poem. The problem is, I don’t really like traditional poems. I don’t have a favorite. I like rap music quite a bit though, some of it s even inspiring so in my book that is close enough.
The final lyrics of the song “Lose Yourself” by Eminem are, “You can do anything you set your mind to (man).” I’m a big fan of this song for a couple reasons.
One, it’s setting is from the soundtrack of the movie “8 mile.” Though it wasn’t a cinematic highlight, I used to live near 5 mile road near Detroit. So you can say that I have been in that ‘hood on a few occasions.
Two, it is very much an inspirational song about grabbing opportunities and not accept failure as an option. Basically, work hard until your mission is accomplished. I like that.

So without further introduction, I will attempt a poem. Oh boy.

You can do anything
you set your mind to,
but you gotta believe,
and truly hustle too.

Even more important,
I must say this is true,
a focus on God’s will,
will make your mind new.

To believe in yourself
is crucial and needed,
but to trust in the Lord
first is what must be heeded.

For we are fallen man
despite all of our talent,
but God’s way is honorable,
and completely valiant.

So seek his will first
and adjust yours from there,
for His kingdom is eternal
and should be your care.

For true happiness cannot,
be purchased or bought,
but reliance on Him,
is the real way to be self-taught.

Trust in the Lord,
and lean not on your brain,
because His way is eternal,
your’s might be insane.

Leave a Reply

